Location: Places >> Oceania >> Australia >> Victoria >> Melbourne >> Melbourne and surrounds outdoor activity group
Login for full access to Couchsurfing Groups. Not a member yet? Join our community!

Nature Lover's up!
Posted October 31st, 2012 - 2:01 am by from Melbourne, Australia (Permalink)
Hey guys,

I m Gloria, just got here in Melbourne, and would like to explore any place outside my house...or even better, outside the city!
I m keen to visit all the hiking trails, forests, national parks, farms, little towns, and any countryside farmer's markets!
If you love the country more than the city...contact me! and we can arrange something to do when the sun is shining here!

i dont have a car but i can share the fuel fee. if you dont have a car either, then we hitch hike or take train or whatever!

let's get out of the house and let the sun bake our head:)

cheers
Gloria

Posted December 28th, 2012 - 11:07 pm by from Melbourne, Australia (Permalink)
Hi


We recently arrived in Melbourne and have explored the city a bit, I would be interested in exploring outside the city on foot, bike, kayak, etc.

Cheers!
Alan M

Posted January 6th, 2013 - 2:07 am by from Baccon, France (Permalink)
Hi Gloria!
I feel like you - I enjoy the countryside more than the city, and I would love to have a travel partner to hike, visit forest and national parks over the weekend as I work in the city during the week. I don't have a car but have tried hitch hiking and it works pretty well here, but still I would feel safer to not do it on my own so if you're still looking for something like that to do from time to time, send me a message and I would be happy to meet you to! :)
Cheers,
Elé

Posted January 6th, 2013 - 2:26 am by from London, England (Permalink)
Well I don't have a car (anymore) but I do have a licence :) I live in Melbourne but have spent most of my time visiting other places out side of Victoria.

The two places I am interested in seeing is The Grampians

http://goo.gl/maps/eRYx9

http://travel.ninemsn.com.au/img/weekends-away/grampians.jpg

and Wilsons Prom!

http://goo.gl/maps/TER8K

http://www.wilmap.com.au/vicmaps/wilsons/default.htm

Both look amazing...

They also both about 3 hours out of the city..
Closer is mount dandenong, which is also close to Healsville sanctuary a zoo for australian animals only.

Could split a hire car, there is a train to Mt Dandenong as well as the Grampians but Wilsons Prom is car only!

It is embarrassing how long I have lived here and still haven't been to the first two places!! :)

Posted January 6th, 2013 - 11:18 am from Melbourne, Australia
This member has chosen to allow only Couchsurfing members to see their group posts. To see this full converstion, sign up or log in.

Posted January 7th, 2013 - 10:52 am by from Melbourne, Australia (Permalink)
Hi Mark!
thank you for the useful information!
also Cathedral ranges is on my to-visit-list! surely I would love to make a move for it!!


Gloria

Posted January 7th, 2013 - 2:51 pm by from Paris, France (Permalink)
Hi,

I'm in Australia fo two months, and in Melbourne to 20 January.
I'm interested in going to Wilsons Prom or Grampians. I also don't have car but a driving license. I'm ok to share a hire car to go there. I also have a tent if needed!

You can contact me if you think we could go for exemple next week.

François

Posted January 8th, 2013 - 2:55 am by from London, England (Permalink)
OK,

I am most keen to go to the Grampians for a wander around, if we could get 4 people together car hire would be cheap + petrol....
I would prefer a day trip, just leave ultra early :)


Posted January 8th, 2013 - 3:20 am by from Melbourne, Australia (Permalink)
Hey Joel I'd be really keen to chip in to hire a car for a day trip to the Grampians. Were you thinking of going this weekend?

Posted January 8th, 2013 - 4:16 am by from Paris, France (Permalink)
Hey Joel and Dana,

I'm ok to go there this weekend. I had a preference for Wilson Prom, but it must be crouded so Grampians seems to be a good option.
What about going for 2 days? Since there is 3 hours driving to go there and 3 hours to come back, we won't enjoy the day very much... I would prefer to stay one night there (I have a tent).

François

Posted January 8th, 2013 - 9:30 am by from Melbourne, Australia (Permalink)
Hi everyone.

If anyone would like to go after the 15th that would be great, I have to go through Sydney and Brisbane before I come back to Melbourne.

I usually arrange hikes in the Peak District and Lake District back home in England so would love to see what we have here.

Cheers.

Posted January 8th, 2013 - 1:56 pm by from London, England (Permalink)
Hola! if it is this weekend it would have to be a day trip for me! and I also have to go back to the motherland (mine being NZ) next weekend!!!

I happy to do it in a few weeks? or day trip

François is right it is far... the only thing would be we would have to get a rental car the night before if we were to leave super early (which I enjoy doing) I'm assuming that would be two days rental?

Thoughts!? put em out there :)

Posted January 8th, 2013 - 1:58 pm by from London, England (Permalink)
I ment I enjoy getting up early hehehe

Posted January 8th, 2013 - 2:03 pm by from Sonderborg, Denmark (Permalink)
Hello everyone!
I am Federica and I am in Melbourne for a while now. I have been around the country a bit but I am missing to see these two places and I really want to go before leave!

Some of my friends already been to the wilsom prom and the granpians and they told me that one day trip is not enough! They are so beautiful that there is a lot to see. So maybe a 2 days trip is better.

I don't have a car but I have an international licence and I am happy to share the cost of car rental + patrol. I don't have a tend but I have some camping stuff. As someone said before at this time of the year these to place are very busy because they are school holiday.

Like Alan I can't make it these week end since I am going away so If you are decide to go another weekend I am in! :)


Posted January 8th, 2013 - 9:12 pm by from London, England (Permalink)
OK well Im back in 3 weeks.... are you all still here then?

Posted January 9th, 2013 - 2:41 am by from Paris, France (Permalink)
I won't be anymore in Melbourne in 3 weeks since I leave next monday. This weekend is the only possibility for me to go to Grampians. Just in case, I give my phone number : 0406 175 039
François

Posted January 9th, 2013 - 5:11 am from Helsinki, Finland
This member has chosen to allow only Couchsurfing members to see their group posts. To see this full converstion, sign up or log in.

Posted January 9th, 2013 - 8:11 am by from Paris, France (Permalink)
Hi everyone,

We finally rent a car for friday.
We'll go to the Great Ocean Road. We plan to stop near Apollo bay to see koalas, then to the Great Otway National Park and finally arrive to the 12 Apostles for sunset.

We leave Melbourne (from top North of Albert Park) at 9am.

If anyone want to join, we have 2 seats in the car. Bring your picnic!

We can share the cost (rental + fuel) which is a total of 100AUD.

Francois & Alexis

Posted January 9th, 2013 - 12:52 pm from London, England
This member has chosen to allow only Couchsurfing members to see their group posts. To see this full converstion, sign up or log in.

Posted January 9th, 2013 - 1:06 pm by from Paris, France (Permalink)
Hi,

Our host told us that on day is not enought for the GOR, so we decided to leave tomorrow morning 10am from Southern Cross. We'll sleep at Port Campbell and the day after we go back to Melbourne by Grampians.

If interested (in last minute), give a call tomorow morning (0406 175 039) and come at southern cross.

François (& Alexis)

Post removed.
Posted January 7th, 2013 - 11:16 am by from Melbourne, Australia (Permalink)
This post has been removed by the user.

Deleted Post
Posted January 6th, 2013 - 1:21 pm by from Marseille, France (Permalink)
Hey everybody,

I'm going this Saturday 12 with two of my friends at Point Nepeans, we gonna go hiking for 12 kilometers during the day and come back at the end of afternoon in Melbourne.
If some of you want to join us, could be nice.
We can meet in the morning in the cbd and take the bus.
I don't really remember how to go there but one of my friend know exactly the itirenary.
If you are interested send me a mail !
See ya!

Théo