Location: Places >> North America >> United States >> New York State >> New York City >> New York City Vegans and Vegetarians
Login for full access to Couchsurfing Groups. Not a member yet? Join our community!

Creative & clean vegetarian female (29), seeks home in NYC...
Posted March 8th, 2012 - 10:38 pm by from Brooklyn, United States (Permalink)
Hello!

I am a New Jersey-born, Toronto-bred, Vanuatu-spiced and New Zealand-infused actor/theatre artist and after several years abroad, I am (finally) moving to New York to realize all my dreams, settle down and live Happily Ever After...

While I am ultimately looking for a semi-permanent residence, I am also open to short-term accommodation (i.e. subletting, housesitting, nanny/au pairing, couchsurfing, etc) while I get myself organized initially...anytime from April 1 onward, dates flexible.

I am looking for a cat-free, smoke-free and meat-free home*, either alone or sharing with others - somewhere in New York City, flexible on exact location - maybe Brooklyn? Don't even know my way around enough to say yet...

*I am a 90% vegan-vegetarian (as in I eat vegan at home & try to vote vegan with my dollars but will occasionally consume non-vegan food socially or in a pinch) - while long-term a vegetarian home is very important to me I am open to more diverse kitchens for the short-term.

I have not yet started to job search so it is difficult to say the kind of hours I will be keeping, though in general I like to go to bed relatively early so I can wake up early for yoga & meditation practice.

This past year I worked full-time in advertising sales and marketing and prior to that I was freelancing as a yoga teacher, nutritionist, nanny, actor and clown doctor - so it is likely that the gainful employment I will procure will be related to one or more of the above fields.

Should you as a potential landlord or roommate be concerned about my employment status (naturally), please rest assured I have plenty of money saved to get me started, a squeaky clean credit rating, I have never missed a rent payment and have references to confirm all of the above.

I am relatively social though my kind of partying is drug- and alcohol-free and usually involves copious amounts of herbal tea and possibly an acoustic guitar or harmonium. I go out a lot but I also like to have people over for dinner and would love to be able to host out of town guests for a night or two on occasion - though on the other side I have also been known to keep to myself and hang out in my room a lot - especially if the television is blaring in a public area (depending what you're watching, of course).

Stuff I geek out about includes: theatre & film (watching & creating), dancing, yoga, holistic health, nature, travel, cool eco haircare and skincare, vegetarian restaurants, luxury spas, indigenous cultures, learning to play new instruments and languages, the quest to become more organized...and tea.

If we live together, I don't need you to be my best friend - though many previous roommates have become that over the years. If we lead entirely independent lives while respectfully sharing space, that's awesome or if we happen to click and want to put time into sharing meals or hanging out together, that's cool too. I've lived with many kinds of people in many different types of living situations in many different countries - so if you are also relatively adaptable, I'm sure we can make it work.

If you have or know of a place to live/stay in New York or if you are or know a person that may want to live with me...please pass this on.

I'm currently en route to North America so am most easily accessible on CS or by e-mail at aprasow@yahoo.com...thanks! -Amanda