Location: Places >> North America >> Canada >> Quebec (Province de) >> Montreal >> 4- Rooms & apartments to rent & swap / Chambres & appart' à louer & échanger
Login for full access to Couchsurfing Groups. Not a member yet? Join our community!

Seeking a domicile for late August OR September onwards, probably a year at least
Posted July 31st, 2013 - 5:28 pm by from Montreal, Canada (Permalink)
Hello!

I'll be returning to Montreal soon, and looking for a place to live. I have a job with the English Montreal Schoolboard, which is not guaranteed full-time, but virtually guaranteed employment for the near future. I am an easy-going guy, with interests in the field of books, games, cycling, hiking/camping, travelling, conversation, learning things, practicing my French, improving my guitar skills, singing and doing artsy things more, eating healthy and cheaply most of the time, partying sometimes but not all the time, playing loud, good music while I cook, some communal meals but more of a buy and cook your own stuff kind-a-guy, I'm much more about love than hate, but I sometimes like to listen to metal, I eat meat and just about everything, loosely following the 'caveman/hunter-gatherer' diet, Stephen Harper pisses me off, I've been to Burning Man, and so forth.

See my profile for more information about me.

I am looking for a place with or without roommates, but most likely with, as I would like to pay no more than $500 maximum per month, ALL-IN, and closer to $400 (or less?) would be even better.

What do I look for in a place?
- High-speed, unlimited or high bandwidth internet
- A bedroom with a window, hopefully with a view
- Good water pressure for the shower
- No recent or likely roof cave-ins
- No mold and good airflow and atmosphere, like windows that often open
- character or potential for character
- thick or thickish walls, especially between bedrooms
- an actual, functional, non-cellular home phone for all would be a bonus

What do I look for in roommates?
- open-minded
- some similar interests, especially partying sometimes but not all the time
- clean up your own mess (eg dishes) within a reasonable amount of time
- generally respectful and cool/easy-going
- more healthy food and food practices than non, such as cooking with cast-iron, local/organic, growing a home garden, dumpster-diving or hitting up Tao/Segall's/PA, but it's none of my business what you eat in the end and I won't judge you or be in any way offended if you eat raw pigs or candied-plastic.

I'll be exploring my options over the coming weeks and won't leap to any decisions unless it sounds freaking awesome.

Also, I will be in Nova Scotia until the 2nd-last week of August or so.

Pi, je peux parle un peu comme les gens Quebecois aussi, mais sans les accents propres sur cet ordi.

Posted July 31st, 2013 - 5:30 pm by from Montreal, Canada (Permalink)
Oh yeah! I don't have a bed or furniture, so furnished with say a bed and a computerish desk at least are also important :)