Location: Places >> Oceania >> Australia >> Victoria >> Melbourne >> Queer Melbourne
Login for full access to Couchsurfing Groups. Not a member yet? Join our community!

WANTED: 2 housemates in Carlton North
Posted August 7th, 2013 - 3:28 am by from Melbourne, Australia (Permalink)
seeking 2 new LONG-TERM housemates!

We have 2 rooms available:

1. We have a large, queen sized but WINDOWLESS bedroom/workspace available ASAP, with the final move in date being (rent needs to be covered after) September 5th. At $100pw it's a bargain. Without windows the room doesn't get any natural light, but it's warm in winter and cool in summer. It's perfect for the goth vibes you can create, and with our place right near the graveyard, you'll be batting all the gothic social invites away. A black tie soiree next Friday? You couldn't possibly, you're far to busy being counter culture at home!
(Jokes aside, it's worth a look. It's big and it's cheap.)

2. In addition we have a North-facing queen size bedroom, with windows opening on to the front porch, available sometime in September (in negotiation with the current tenant). This room is lovely, and currently gets some morning sun (but not in Summer). It's $160pw. The cat likes to sit on the windowsill in this room and watch the traffic and growl at passing dogs. The cat is weird.

About the house: it's a 3 bedroom place that we've converted into a 4 bedroom (and thus the windowless room). We have a courtyard out back which is small but with room enough to potter around in. Shower over bath. Fridge, washer, etc already here. Our only bills* are the internet package which is $25 per person per month for 400 GB. Thus, bedroom 1 you're looking at $425pcm total for rent and bills.
Bedroom 2, $665pcm total for rent and bills.
Bedroom 1 has a bond of $520.
Bedroom 2 has a bond of $600.

We're a welcoming, mature, quiet, no parties kinda home and seek someone who may be queer, trans, intersex, a sex worker, preferably a non-smoker, easy-going, charming, and open minded. Racism, sexism, transphobia, transmisogyny, whorephobia, fatphobia, neuronormativity, sexually predatory behaviour etc will not be tolerated in the house, and this rule doesn't just apply to housemates, but also to our guests.

In return we offer a SAFE and comfortable home with awesome people, and one friendly/evil cat named Ichabod. Ichabod loves attention, so the more love you show him the sweeter he'll be to you. If you don't like cats or hanging out with them, don't contact us. This cat is high maintenance.

We'd prefer 2 women to move in so we have a balance, but that's not a hard and fast rule. We just want a happy house and people who are looking to stick around for quite a while!

If you think you like the sound of what we're offering, call Dan on 0438 40 10 78 or email dbledwich at gmail dot com

*This could change in the future, but at this point we've got bills sorted. :)