Location: Ideas >> Vegans & Vegetarians >> vegan/vegetarian >> Vegan/Vegetarian Cooking and Fine Wine
Login for full access to Couchsurfing Groups. Not a member yet? Join our community!

Do vegans eat honey from bees?
Posted August 25th, 2010 - 10:06 pm by from Quetzaltenango, Guatemala (Permalink)
Hello everyone. Thanks for welcoming me into your group. I joined because I own a small restaurant in Quetzaltenango, Guatemala that has a vegan section on the menu. A very popular item with our guests is fruit crepes with honey and various spices. We use honey because most people prefer that to cane sugar or corn syrup. My question is whether it is appropriate to put the fruit crepes in the vegan section. I honestly don't know whether most vegans eat honey and I do not want to serve anyone something that they do not want to eat. Thanks for your responses.

Posted August 26th, 2010 - 1:41 am by from Pesaro, Italy (Permalink)
A vegan is supposed not to eat honey. Real vegans do not eat honey at all. They do not eat everything that comes from animal, and so from their abuse. Consider that a bee formerly works for a man. All the honey we buy/produce/sell has been "stolen" from a bee that worked for us without counsciousness. I'm turning vegan after 4 years of vegetarianism but I still eat honey sometimes.
By the way I'll be up to Guatemala next year.. reserve a table for me!!! hehehe a hug.