Location: Places >> North America >> Canada >> British Columbia >> Vancouver, Coast & Mountains Region >> Vancouver CouchSurfers >> CS Friendly Accommodations & CS Friendly Housemates in Vancouver, Canada
Login for full access to Couchsurfing Groups. Not a member yet? Join our community!

Exchange Student from Berlin looking for a room Jan - May
Posted November 23rd, 2012 - 10:59 am by from Berlin, Germany (Permalink)
Hey there !
My name is Cavo, I'm 23 and looking for a room in a friendly flat share (around 450$ rent?) in Vancouver.
Studying film and photography at the university of the arts in berlin I will make an exchange semester at emily carr university arriving in the city on December 18th.
I'm really exicted for the time to come and hope to find a cool person or group to stay with.
So far I've always been living in flatshares and I'm always open for new people and experiences. Furthermore I like social gatherings and cooking together or drinking a glas of beer or wine.
Talking about cooking, I can say that I eat pretty much everything, but of course I respect veggies or vegans.
I don't smoke normally, only sometimes on parties and neither do I take any hard drugs.
Like most germans I love to play football (soccer) or various other sports like rowing but I'm also a fan of good films or music.
I do some music myself and play trumpet.. you can give it a try here :-)
(https://soundcloud.com/kernich-1 ; https://soundcloud.com/kollerkernich)

See you soon maybe !

Cavo

Posted November 25th, 2012 - 5:49 pm by from Guadalajara, Mexico (Permalink)
Hey I will arrive on vancouver on 22th January, i would like to rent a room and stay with students so if you find something cheap and cool.... Tell me, if not... Mmm well just invite me to your parties :)


Saludos!

Posted November 27th, 2012 - 5:29 am by from Ljubljana, Slovenia (Permalink)
hey cavo, i'm moving out of my apartment january 9th. it's in the joyce-collingwood area. i love the area, next to skytrain and all major bus routes (41, 43, 25, 26, 19). it's actually a room in a house, the landlord (who lives here - but mostly like 1 day per week, other days she stays with her daughter) in filipino and great, the other housemate is japanese and super awesome. the downside is that you're not supposed to have any visitors at all, but it's a great place, the rent is $550, flatmate is great, landlord has many family house parties, so it's fun, quiet, and all that jazz. the reason why i'm moving is that i got a place 5min walk away from my work. let me know if you're interested.

Posted November 27th, 2012 - 7:17 am by from Vancouver, Canada (Permalink)
Hi Cavo

I decided to write even though I am not yet certain if my spare room will be available. I am hoping to travel to Asia in February for three months but am awaiting certain information before I can confirm that. You would have a room in a house I share with an old friend who is often away on business in Germany - he is a wind farm developer. I will also be having another friend stay for a while starting Jan 7th, so once I depart(?) it would just be the 2 of you having the house to yourselves.

The rent would be $550 which includes utilities and internet, but a phone would be your responsibility.

I understand that you are attending Emily Carr so any commitment I make would be for at least the duration of your semester. My place is a short Skytrain ride from the school.

For now ... I can offer my couch for the 18th (no charge of course) and then we can play it by ear from there.

I am an active hiker and like to get into the local mountains as much as I can and company is always welcome - I often take friends or my daughters along. I'm a huge music fan too and attend as many shows as I can ... the last one was a local Serbian style orchestra (like Goran Bregovic- talk about fun!).

I am also a diehard footy fan ... I like Man U and Spurs, but more than anything appreciate a game that is played well: like the recent Sweden - England friendly (what a goal by Ibra!) I often take in the early morning EPL games at a local Italian coffee bar. They also have Bundesliga, La Liga, and Serie B oops, I mean A hehe.

Cheers and good Luck
.. gene

Posted November 27th, 2012 - 12:36 pm by from Berlin, Germany (Permalink)
Thank you Iva and Gene for your nice offers !
550$ is already above my limit I'm afraid but I'll see if that goes together somehow..
And Gene, I will definately go to that bar often. But who wants to see Italian football ? :)
I would also love to go hiking in the mountains, that sounds awesome !
Again thanks :)


Posted November 27th, 2012 - 3:54 pm by from Ljubljana, Slovenia (Permalink)
hey cavo, no problem. just to let you know: $550 is a pretty good deal in vancouver :) usually everyone i know is paying more for a room. a friend in downtown is living in the living room and she's paying $550. people in kitsilano pay $1200 at least for an apartment. so ... it's way more expensive :)

Posted November 27th, 2012 - 4:03 pm by from Berlin, Germany (Permalink)
ouh really? Well I saw some strange offerings in the internet for "semi-private" rooms for 900$ already and couldn't believe it.
Well, it looks like I have to rethink my financial plannings :)
thanks for the advice

Posted November 27th, 2012 - 4:30 pm by from Ljubljana, Slovenia (Permalink)
vancouver is extremely expensive. the most expensive city in north america. you CAN get good deals on rent, but they are very rare. maybe you'll get lucky. out of my friends only one i know is paying $350 but she's living in burnaby and with some slovenian people so it's a special good deal. if you want to live close to emily carr, so either kitsilano, south granville or false creek, in my opinion expect to pay at least $650 for a room/living room in a 1-bedroom/2-bedroom apartment. also, you would not believe what kind of apartments people are renting out ...

Posted November 27th, 2012 - 4:52 pm by from Vancouver, Canada (Permalink)
The bar is the Abruzzo coffee bar on Commercial Drive ... and except for Mario Balotelli they hardly show any Italian football any more hehe.

Good Luck ... keep in touch

Posted December 2nd, 2012 - 7:53 pm by from Coquitlam, Canada (Permalink)
I get $500 - $650 a month for rooms at my place in Coquitlam.

(I'm an hour and a half by transit from Emily Carr)

Posted December 16th, 2012 - 2:54 pm by from Vancouver, Canada (Permalink)
I live in a big, old house in Vancouver. It's on the East side, near the PNE. There is a room available January 1 for $550, all included (WIFI, Cable, Utilities). It's a great location in a great neighbourhood. The #4 bus will take you over the Granville bridge, where you can walk to Emily Carr. The roommates are awesome and creative, as well as social. It's not a party house, but into guests for sure. We have 2 Weimaraner dogs and a cat. Let me know if you're interested.