Location: Places >> North America >> United States >> New York State >> New York City >> NYC Rents & Sublets - CS Apartments/Roommates. NO COUCH REQUESTS
Login for full access to Couchsurfing Groups. Not a member yet? Join our community!

Seeking a space in Brooklyn, $500-$700mo
Posted March 10th, 2013 - 7:59 pm by from Tucson, United States (Permalink)
Life is rarely ideal (ask Candide, for one). But i'm posting in faith that a nearly-ideal living situation exists somewhere in this dynamic place.

Things i'd like in a space…

*Ideal* price range - $500-700/mo.

Must-haves - natural light. Shared cleaning responsibilities. Cat-allergic but otherwise pet friendly. I do not have pets of my own.

Maybes/pluses - Composting/recycling? Furnished? Closet space? Other CSer housemates?! These are things i can make do without, but would be considerably happier with.

Ideal neighborhoods - South Slope, Gowanus, Sunset Park, Kensington, Ditmas Park, PLG, Crown Hghts, Park Slope. Open to a wider geographic range if vibe/fit in other departments is amazing. (Proximity to F, G, D, R/N trains optimal, but i have a car and bicycle as well so transit line isn't a huge issue.)

About me - turning 30 next month. Employed at a grassfed-kosher meat warehouse. Hold a BS in sustainable ag and do video production work on the side (mostly outreach video partnerships with ag researchers). Also involved in contradance as a caller and fiddler/pianist.

Mutual respect is key. The following describe my angle on some lifestyle aspects which can be important to getting along…

Gender/orientation - I identify as a Kinsey 5 cis-male; all my good friends are straight males who consider me one of the guys. Respectful of and compatible with male roommates regardless of orientation, and open to sharing space with females as well, but i'd rather not be the only guy in the space. Also comfortable with ftm trans & genderqueer folks.

Substances - i'm cool with tobacco smokers (grew up with a smoker parent). Not cool with smoking in common spaces, aside from hookah. Open to occasional 420 users, but not keen on living with heavy use.

Faith - I identify as nonreligious, but open to the wisdom of many faiths and particularly compatible with non-proselytizing, open-minded religious folk (eg UU, Episcopal, Quaker, Buddhist, Daoist, Hindu), nontheists, and atheists. I also get along well with relaxed Muslims. I don't get along well with hardliners of any sort, whether that's religion or veganism… but i'll respect you and i hope you'll do the same.

~ Tavi

"we're neither pure, nor wise, nor good / we'll do the best we know / to build our house, and chop our wood / and make our garden grow..."