Location: Ideas >> Vegans & Vegetarians >> vegan/vegetarian >> London Vegans/Vegetarians
Login for full access to Couchsurfing Groups. Not a member yet? Join our community!

Short Term Let in Sociable Vegan Houseshare (Large Double Room £460/m)
Posted May 7th, 2013 - 9:48 pm by from Lyon, France (Permalink)
INITIAL SHORT TERM LET (4-6 WEEKS) NO DEPOSIT - WITH POSSIBILITY OF RENEWING CONTRACT

We are looking for a new housemate as one of our housemates is moving away to be closer to her workplace. We are a vegan household in the Leyton/ Walthamstow area. We share food, eat together most evenings, and pick up a weekly organic local fruit and veg box.

We have a big double room with bay windows available for £460 per month plus bills. There are 2 bathrooms, (the downstairs one would pretty much be your own), a nice kitchen and a front room with dining table. There's also quite a big garden, and we're hoping to do some planting now that the weather has finally started to improve! The house has double glazing and is insulated. It's located in a quiet residential area, so noise is never an issue when you're trying to sleep, either.

We have good transport links with Victoria and Central Line tubes about a 15 minute walk away. There are two overground stations just down the road with fast connections to Liverpool Street and Gospel Oak. There are also regular buses to Hackney, Shoreditch, Bank, London Bridge, Oxford Circus etc. It takes about 15 minutes to cycle to Hackney and about 40 to London Bridge.

You'd be living with three other housemates (1 female, 2 male, late 20s-early 30s) who work in web design, the charitable sector and hospitality. We are interested in anarchism, feminism, the queer movement, veganism, animal rights, punk, gardening, cycling, guitar etc. We are warm, friendly and nice people to live with, and all respect one another. We are clean, but not over the top, and we all take responsibility of shopping and keeping the house tidy. We are trying to have a home, not just a houseshare.

In the area there is the most amazing vegan community cafe and environmental hub (Hornbeam), and a health food shop. We are part of a food co-op and get a bulk order of wholefoods done as required for the cost price.

Two of the housemates will be moving to live abroad at the end of June or July so the whole house contract can be terminated then or continued with new housemates (this will have to be decided on by you and the remaining other housemate).

The room is available from this weekend and we'll be arranging viewings over the next few days so please get in touch as soon as possible if you're interested! Thanks very much :)