Location: Places >> Oceania >> Australia >> Victoria >> Melbourne >> 2 - Looking for a housemate in Melbourne
Login for full access to Couchsurfing Groups. Not a member yet? Join our community!

Double Room In Large East Brunswick Vegetarian Flatshare.
Posted January 8th, 2013 - 10:44 am by from Melbourne, Australia (Permalink)
The house has a big kitchen and dining area, a decent-sized lounge, two bedrooms, a bathroom, a laundry and a garage. There is a bit of space to plant some herbs, lettuce and spinach etc. The house is alarmingly 80's, but it's clean, it's tidy, and we've just got the lease so it's kinda empty - we aim to bring in some style in the second-hand furniture and pot plants and cool people we fill it with.

The room is 3m x 3.5m (would fit a double bed and a desk), carpeted, has a large built-in wardrobe and a large window. It's light and airy and there is a fig tree outside, from which one could pluck figs, if one were so inclined and if they were ripe.

You'd be living with Geoff (33) and Claire (30). We are from NZ and have moved here so that Claire can study medicine at Uni of Melbourne. Geoff is a freelance theatre director and writer and will work between NZ and Aus. We are vegetarian and the house will be meat-free or vegan if you prefer. We are happy to cook with someone else or not, depending on lifestyles etc. but would love to share the odd meal and beer in the sun. The lease doesn't allow smokers or pets. We are used to living in share houses and like to hang out, cook, talk about art and politics, make things, bake, garden and brew beer.

We're moving in on Saturday the 12th Jan and will begin to acquire what we need as we go. We're plan on buying the big stuff (couches, tables, a fridge, a washing machine) but people with some funky furniture or handy whiteware would be more than welcome.

We are looking for a single or couple, over 20 years, who want to live in a lefty, meat-free or vegan, chilled-out, environmentally-aware house with some creative, friendly people.

Give me a text 0415 503 147 or email claire_liss@yahoo.co.nz and we'd love to meet you this Sunday if possible.

Posted January 8th, 2013 - 10:46 am by from Melbourne, Australia (Permalink)
Oh yeah, it is $170 per week.

Posted January 8th, 2013 - 12:19 pm by from Melbourne, Australia (Permalink)
Not including bills. We will connect things this weekend or Mon as it might be good to agree with the new housemates on an internet plan.

Posted January 8th, 2013 - 1:33 pm by from Beijing, China (Permalink)
I plan stay Mel from 11th Jan to 1st Feb , find a couch or a bed for sleep, cheap is very important for me,

pierce.tang@hotmail.com

Posted January 12th, 2013 - 6:53 am by from Montreal, Canada (Permalink)
Hi guys!

I'm returning to Melbourne after a few months away and I am looking for a room to rent for one month only. Unfortunetely, my visa expires at the end of February :(

I'm an actor/yoga teacher vegetarian so I'm thinking this could be a good mix if you are interested in having someone move in for only one month.
I'm currently in Bali but will be back in Australia on the 24th of January.

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Vanessa

Posted January 18th, 2013 - 1:58 am by from Melbourne, Australia (Permalink)
Hi,
Sorry to people who posted here instead of sending me a message - I didn't see them and so didn't reply!.
The room is now filled.
Happy home-hunting,
Claire