• Hey my best friend and i are coming to chill in boston from the 25th of Feb! im a musician and would love to play at some open mic nights and maybe do some busking if thats allowed.
    Any advice on great bars, activities,people to hang with and maybe even a place to hangout and cook dinners with great people.
    Send me anything and everything i need to know :)
    Private_message
    First of all - take plenty of warm warm clothes! :)
    Private_message
    If you're willing to play for donations in the street, I'd recommend going in the subway system (the T). Lots of people travel through Downtown Crossing stop, Park Street, and Harvard Square and wait for trains so those are good places to camp out by. Plus, it's warm in the tunnels
    Private_message
    Hey! I think I can help you out...

Brendan, not to burst your bubble, but I would definitely not busk in the T as you need a permit and they always (at least 90% of the time) will check.

Good (and free) busking spots include Davis Square on the redline, and basically anywhere in Boston that's not Quincy Market (It's the big touristy destination in downtown with the food court, the buskers take their permits there very seriously).

There are some awesome Open mics. On the 27th there is one called 3Penny at the bar Precinct in Union Sq. The host is fantastic and you will also get to meet a bunch of local musicians.
    Also if you want to check out some local music go to Sally O'briens, The Middle East (real old-school club), the Church, Lizard Lounge. These are also great bars; unless you're looking for some high end cocktail lounge with strippers.

I would love to host you but I'll be up in Montreal ): If you need anymore tips let me know!
    Private_message