• Hello everyone!

My name is Emmanuel and I'm 26 years old. I'm a brazilian medical student and if everything works out, I will be there in september to stay about one whole year, studying at University of Debrecen as an exchange student. I know very little about life in Debrecen, although I've already read a few things on internet and here, and I would like to know if you can tell me something about it here.

* Prices for renting apartments, cost of living (clothes, food, restaurants, cinema etc), places to visit, schools of hungarian language and things like that.

* I also would like to ask if there are waterfalls, lakes, rivers and groves or forests with trails where we can walk around and enjoy the hungarian nature.

* Could you tell me anything about student life there? Are there many people from differents parts of europe living there?

* Are there parties to go to? Are there clubs? Pubs? I know just a little about the nightlife in Debrecen.

* Important: what kind of music we will generally listen to in debrecen's pubs?

* In Brazil, in some regions, we usually don't recommend to walk around alone after the sunset. It's the case of most brazilian cities downtown, for example. Is it ok leaving a pub, for example, and go home alone by foot?

* I'm a latin guy, probably my features will make that clear. Is racism a common thing around this region of europe?

* Well, at least for now, these are my questions. I know they are a lot of questions, so feel free to answer as many questions as you want. I hope we can set up a meeting in september when I'm there. I'm looking forward to see the hungarian cold weather there and have some fun! ehehehe

Greetings from Brazil!

Emmanuel
    Private_message
    Hey Emmanuel,

Greetings from Debrecen! Let’s just have some quick answers to your questions :)