• Hi everyone,

My name is Maaike, I just moved to Yantai a few weeks ago to teach English here. I'm going to be here for at least a year and I'd like to make some friends! Are there any CS meetups here in Yantai? I've been looking through the message archive of this group, but any messages about meetings seem to be pretty old! So I thought I'd just post a new message and hopefully someone can tell me about any meetings that are happening, or maybe we can start a new one. :D

I'm also looking for a Chinese teacher. I've been studying Chinese on my own for a bit, but I'm not progressing very fast as I don't know anyone patient enough to test my newly gained skills on. :D Can anyone recommend any private teachers or language schools in Yantai, or do you know anyone who would be willing to set up a regular language exchange (once a week, for example)? I'm an English teacher, so obviously I can help you with English, but I can also teach you Dutch (I am Dutch). Or the basics of French, German or Finnish. :D

Looking forward to meeting new people!

Maaike
    Private_message
    Hi Maaike,

Welcome to Yantai! Actually I myself is relatively new to this city too. (came here from Beijing a yr ago)

Where about are you in Yantai? not sure if you are only into professional language tutoring or not. If you are also interested in casual language exchange, there is a weekly gathering in a cafe in Kai Fa Qu. A group of local English learners gather every Sunday to practice English. They also organize outing trips from time to time. You will make some local friends there and possibly some language exchange tutors.

For serious language courses, I think Cristiano knows better...

If you are not far from Kai Faqu, you can check out Lakasa, a western restaurant by the beach on Friday. It is a popular place among the international community here.

Hope this helps

Private_message
    Hi Cristiano and Mack,