• Hello everybody. I am new to New York as I have just moved here from Brazil to be a Au Pair. Would anybody like to get a coffee or drink sometime and help show me around? I'm also trying to figure out this couchsurfing site.

Obrigado;)
    Private_message
    HI MICHELLE,
    No problem. I will be out and about the city tomorrow, Sunday January 19th. I can be reached at : 347-489-0405. My name is James and send me your facebook ad if you desire. I have a vehicle and get around to Manhattan from Brooklyn where I live.
    sincerely,
    james
    Private_message
    Hi I'm joe. I'll show you around!
    Private_message
    hi michelle, id like to hang out. let me know.
    Private_message
    Welcome to NY i'm sure you like it here, after all its NY... hey i'm sure I would have like to travel there myself if I had the time...
    Private_message
    hI,i am an aupair in NY,too.Can i help you?hahaha,my email is lynklady@sina.com
    Private_message
    I'm new to New York as well! I'm from California, but I've been an au pair in Rome and London.
    Private_message
    Hi Michelle,

Check out the advice on this page: http://www.couchsurfing.com/tips

Also, one thing that happens often to women on Couchsurfing is that men will email them offering to show them around the city, or to have dinner. Sometimes this offer is genuine, and he's just a nice guy that likes to show travelers around, but often the man is looking for something more than friendship. If the guy emailing has very few or no references, he is almost certainly looking for something more than friendship. One way to test for this is to say that you would be happy to go if you can find another traveler or two to join you with him, or that you will meet him with your boyfriend.